Feddersen Rifle Barrel Reviews

Since our 10/22 precision-honed barrels have become a main-stay with anyone shooting with accuracy in mind, we have been reviewed on various websites, shared below:

Squirrel Hunting Journal (online journal)

Squirrel Hunting Journal (online journal)

Feddersen 10/22 Tennessee Ridgerunner Review

Snippet:
You’ll see it has been a while since I’ve given my Ruger 10/22 anytime out of the safe. To me a box stock 10/22 just doesn’t provide the accuracy results I require at distances over 35 yards… For my purposes I need a rifle that shoots dime size or less groups at 50 yards. Shooting a “dime” (.75”) at 50 yards is actually just over minute of angle at that distance, so I expect my rifle to shoot better than this, but settle on dime size based on an average of ten, five shot groups…So I took my sporter 10/22 ($214.00) and replaced the factory barrel with a Feddersen 16.25” threaded bull barrel ($190)…Brad, my hunting bud and cameraman extraordinaire, claims I’m more lethal with the 10/22 than my beloved CZ 452 16” American. I think the squirrels would agree.

Link to original article at Squirrel Hunting Journal.

Favorite MajorPandemic.com AR15 Parts

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Favorite MajorPandemic.com AR15 Parts

Article Date: Monday, December 26, 2016.

Snippet:
Premium – Black Hole Weaponry (BHW) and Feddersen will both easily deliver sub-MOA groups and both feature unique rifling all for just over $300. The polygonal rifled BHW offer all the finish and cool fluting options you could ever want and always deliver amazing accuracy. Feddersen’s Single Edged Polygonal Rifling is supremely accuracy so much so that I would argue it offers nearly the same performance as Top End Match barrels, but at this point no one retails them. Feddersen .308 and .223 blanks can be purchased from Feddersen, but you need to find a gunsmith to finish them. I am told Feddersen will be selling them directly in 2017.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Aero Precision JP Artisan Custom .308 Precision Rifle Review

Article Date: Saturday, January 9, 2016.

Snippet:
It is always a little weird how my articles come together like “the force” or something is guiding my builds. Odd items just start showing up on my doorstep. I have to scramble to figure out how it will all go together in a build which actually makes sense while making every attempt to do justice to the product versus just ramming into an existing build just to get the article out the door. In this case I have been working with Artisan Arms – Micro MOA on evaluating some of their new AR15 and AR10 barrels based on Feddersen blanks. My Feddersen 10/22 barrels are some of the best shooting consistent barrels I own. The first AR15 Micro MOA barrel I tested in my Area 53 Shades of Grey build was flat out amazing even with cheap ammo, so my excitement was a bit over the mark when Micro MOA/Artisan Arms supplied one of their Feddersen blanked .308 AR barrels… but then I had to pull together a build which would deliver the best for this potentially amazing barrel.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.  Or, read full article as PDF.

Feddersen Blank - Artisan Arms AR15 16.25" Single Edge Polygonal Rifled Barrel

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Area 53 Shades of Grey Custom AR15 Build

Article Date: Friday, September 25, 2015.

Snippet:
Feddersen Blank – Artisan Arms AR15 16.25″ Single Edge Polygonal Rifled Barrel – $250 – This was a completely one off custom barrel based on a then newly introduced production prototype rifled barrel blank from Feddersen and finished by Artisan Arms/Micro MOA. Feddersen as you may remember produced the magically exceptionally accurate sub-1/4″ 50-yard grouping barrels I have featured on many 10/22 builds. Now they are offering .223 barrel blanks as well. My blanks were shipped to Artisan Arms to finish into a mountable barrel with a FailZero barrel extension and Artisan delivered a beautiful fluted lightweight barrel. Artisan also now also creates the Feddersen blanked barrels for MicroMOA however mine was one of the first to be produced and reflected their unique taper profile delivering both stiffness and lightweight. The accuracy delivered from this barrel exceeds that of most bull barrels… but more on that later.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.

major pandemic-review

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

No Guts No glory AR15 Pistol Build

Article Date: Wednesday October 22, 2014.

Snippet:

MicroMoa exclusively uses Fedderson barrels profiled and chambered by Artisan Arms. The big deal about Feddersen blanks are that they feature the hair splitting SIPR – Single Edged Polygonal Rifling and a trade secret lapping process which on their 10/22 .22LR barrels will deliver sub-1/8″ 50-yard groups. I love them so much that I have three of their 10/22 barrels. The barrels are extraordinarily consistent and all the barrels will delivering 50-yard playing card splitting accuracy. You can imagine that I was a bit excited to test out a 5.56 Nato chambered AR15 pistol barrel featuring the same rifling.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.

Feddersen Magnum Research Timney Custom 10/22 Long Range Tack Driver

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Feddersen Magnum Research Timney Custom 10/22 Long Range Tack Driver

Article Date: Monday December 1, 2014.

Snippet:

I have heard many precision .22LR shooters claim that 18”, 20”, or 22” barrels will shoot better than my prefered 16.25” barrel length. That may be true with some barrels however I was already shooting essentially single hole .2X”-.3x” groups at 50-yards with all my other Feddersen 16.25” barrel guns with plain old CCI Standard Velocity ammo. I also have an 18” Feddersen barreled 10/22 and I technically the 16.25” shoots better for me. It makes it hard to justify a longer 2”-6” barrel length, added weight and decreased maneuverability. The Feddersen barrels are not picky about ammo either where I found that most other tight grouping match barrels do not necessarily shot the high velocity ammo as well as match spec standard velocity ammo. Feddersen barrel shoot the extremely hot CCI Velocitor .22LR ammo exceptionally well even shoot other HV rounds very well which of course is what you want when you are building a longer range gun that can reach beyond the 50 or 100 yard mark. Feddersen offers many options including including flat basic blue finish, threading, and fluting. I choose the 16.25” barrel fluted and threaded in the basic flat blued finish.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.

MOA Stainless 10/22 Receiver Review

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

MOA Stainless 10/22 Receiver Review

Article Date: Thursday August 8, 2013.

Snippet:

Being 100% stainless steel has the obvious durability points of corrosion and rust proof, however I believe the more important point is the added structural strength. The trim little cast alloy Ruger 10/22 receiver was never intended to support 16″-22″ heavy bull barrels 2-3 times the weight of the original barrel especially when the barrel is also free-floated. That much stress will lead to some minute flex which does impact accuracy negatively. It only makes sense that a stronger and more rigid receiver will structurally support the weight of our heavy barrels much more solidly and therefore improve accuracy, especially when we also thread in the barrel.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Feddersen Dura Sight Bull Barrel Ruger 10/22 Barrel Review

Article Date: Wednesday March 20, 2013.

Snippet:

Feddersen Dura Sight Bull Barrel Ruger 10/22 Barrel Review: At this point I have three Feddersen 10/22 barrels. Unsurprisingly to Feddersen, all three barrels pretty much hold the exact same 50-yard playing-card splitting accuracy. These barrels are by far my most consistent shooting barrels of all 10/22 I own. This is because of Feddersen’s patented manufacturing process, however this article focuses on a unique option – a high precision Bull Barrel with Fiber Optic sights which delivers the ultimate .22LR survival rifle.

On my last order, they strongly encouraged me to try their 16.25″ barrel “standard” dark blued with Fiber Optic Durasights. In essence it is exactly the same barrel I tested before and netted near identical groups as my other Feddersen barrel, so close in fact it become pointless to record and share them. Suffice to say, near single hole 5-shot groups a 50-yards are possible. As a fairly proficient iron sight shooter, the idea of having a precision 10/22 match barrel with iron sight was intriguing.

Most stock Ruger 10/22s can manage 1″ groups at 50-yards when scoped with a 3-9X scope, a Feddersen barrel can deliver near single hole group with that same optic or roughly a 100% improvement. With iron sights, I can manage 50-yard 3″ groups with a stock 10/22, but how would those groups look with a barrel capable of nearly 100% better accuracy? Let find out what the Feddersen Durasight match bull barrel can do.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.  Or, read full article as PDF.

Feddersen barrel testing

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

PWS T-3 Summit 10/22 Action Test Reloaded

Article Date: Saturday January 26, 2013.

Snippet:

REDUCING VARIABLES IMPACTING ACCURACY
One of the biggest variables impacting accuracy on a 10/22 is the barrel and that specific barrel’s preference for a particular ammo or lot# of ammo. We eliminate this huge variable in testing just by sticking with the exact same barrel and the same box of ammo for the duration of the test.

My original Feddersen barrel included in the Feddersen TN Ridge Runner blew my mind from an accuracy perspective and has proven to be arguably my most consistent and accurate barrel. I loved the barrel so much I purchased two more for other builds. All three shoot nearly identically which is a testament to the consistency of Feddersen barrels.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.

The Feddersen is a superbly shooting rifle for half to a third the cost of any of these above options

Major Pandemic (online magazine)

Ultimate 10/22 Shootout Test

Article Date: Tuesday, July 24, 2012.

Snippet:

FEDDERSEN 10/22 TENNESSEE RIDGE RUNNER RIFLE
I want to fair here and note that the Feddersen Tennessee Ridge Runner is not an “Ultimate 10/22″ with all the bells and whistles of these other premium 10/22s. The Feddersen is a superbly shooting rifle for half to a third the cost of any of these above options. In reality the only upgrades this Feddersen has is a Feddersen 16” bull barrel and a Hogue stock, so it is far from the glorious ultimates above.

Build Specs – Feddersen 10/22 Tennessee Ridge Runner ($465), bipod, and Nikon 2-7 P-22 Scope – $650 total build.

Link to original article at Major Pandemic.